.

Poll: If Obama Gets a Convention Bounce, What Will Percentage Be?

Mitt Romney’s standing in polls didn’t rise after the GOP met in Tampa; same fate for president?

According to a Gallup tracking poll, Mitt Romney failed to get a boost from last week’s Republican National Convention. An analysis said: “Romney is the third candidate and the first Republican since 1964 to not receive a convention bounce in the Gallup Poll, putting him in the company of George McGovern and John Kerry.” (See the Gallup numbers.) Will President Obama do better in the wake of his Charlotte acceptance speech? If so, how much? 

Ron Selkovitch September 11, 2012 at 11:39 PM
Well Kevin, Surely we can agree that the Bush was responsible for creating a recession that was heading for a depression. We can disagree as to whether Obama could have turned us around faster, but we do know we are coming out of it now. How about a larger issue. Are recessions inevitable with Capitalism, is this healthy, or can we do better.
Michael Ecklund September 11, 2012 at 11:40 PM
Jimmy Sanders..................How about forgiving a billion dollars to Egypt and then looking around for another billion to give them..........nice hey.........
Doug Curlee September 11, 2012 at 11:40 PM
so, it's finally revealed.. the jesus troll is just another reactionary rightwingnut wacko.. thought so..nic e to have it confirmed.. doug
Michael Ecklund September 11, 2012 at 11:46 PM
D C. ....Do you every have anything but hate comming out of you. Our goal should be to live justly and to promote societal justice. My goal is not to elect a preacher-in-chief but a commander-in-chief
Michael Ecklund September 11, 2012 at 11:49 PM
Tom Yarnall.....guns for sure.............S&W is trying to catch up on back orders after the DNC..................just sayin................
Kevin George September 12, 2012 at 12:16 AM
We don't need to disagree, the President told us what to do. I heard it on this rightwingnut echo chamber. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCN5-ovvFL0&feature=related
Craig Maxwell September 12, 2012 at 12:20 AM
Doug, Would the above comment be an example of the selflessly disciplined, journalistic neutrality to which you referred earlier?
alexpinca September 12, 2012 at 10:17 PM
Michael Ecklund 4:36 pm on Tuesday, September 11, 2012 @Alex....................we know no matter what is said you'll be pulling the lever for Obama............... **************************************** True....the Republicans certainly didn't give me an option. We need a 3rd party in this country desparately. But it would do great damage to the right wing extremists...they would lose all semblance of respectability as the level headed moderates abandon them in droves.
Michael Ecklund September 12, 2012 at 10:48 PM
Alex....yes it would be nice to have another party running. You can vote for Obama and that's your right. However someone that condones killing babies and it's ok to be gay........is not my idea of cammander-in-chief.
Ron Selkovitch September 12, 2012 at 11:55 PM
Michael - Obama never condoned killing babies, just not true. And it is ok to be gay. Do you have any rational argument against being gay - and please - religious dogma is not rational argument.
Doug Curlee September 12, 2012 at 11:57 PM
craig.. when i'm covering NEWS, i plat it down the middle.. this is, as i uderstand it, an OPINION thread..and i have opinions that i would not necessarily air in NEWS stories..are you saying that the rest of you can write YOUR opinions, but i'm not entitled? doesn't work that way.. doug
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 12:17 AM
@Ron Sekovitch..............See if this is rational enough for you. Your creator said in Psalm53................"The fool has said in his heart, There is no God. Being I take it you are in that category. Then outside of the moral law I can tell you nothing as you don't want anything that pertains to religion.
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 12:18 AM
@D.C. You are entitled to say your opinions no matter how wrong they are.
Ed Sorrels September 13, 2012 at 12:23 AM
I have been reading you guy for a couple of days now and as I know little about the higher levels of Govt. I don't feel qualified to comment my self other than mostly the whole bunch of you act like kid, on the school ground's " Yea, Yes Yea" and on and onget revelant of get the hell out this is not your personal pedestal, And if I spelled anything wrong I couldn't care less ! Also If you have an opinion atg least be man opr woman enough th put your name on it, To damn easy to hide behind these silly names.
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 12:46 AM
@Ed Sorrels................well put Ed................most do hide as most are probably ashamed of what they say.
alexpinca September 13, 2012 at 01:39 AM
Michael...the only difference between you and the dispicable islamist that threw acid in the face of a girl simply because she want to go to school is a matter of degree. You people with STRONG religious beliefs do great harm to people and other living creatures.
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 01:51 AM
@Alex,,,,Born again are not the only christians? Tell me pray tell...who are the other ones?
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 01:57 AM
@Alex...........UR gettin nasty again............no one said on this blog that you need to believe.............In Iran you believe in allah or they will kill you.............just say'in
alexpinca September 13, 2012 at 02:09 AM
In America (among religious extremists)...you must be heterosexual or the will shun you....that was my point regarding a difference in degree.
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 03:03 AM
@Alex.............Sorry I don't agree with that........they love the homosexual but hate the act..................just a say'in
Komfort September 13, 2012 at 03:41 AM
Non-religious extremists make sure homosexuality is taught in public schools.
Ron Selkovitch September 13, 2012 at 05:12 AM
Michael, You obviously have no logical response.
alexpinca September 13, 2012 at 08:56 AM
Komfort 8:41 pm on Wednesday, September 12, 2012 Non-religious extremists make sure homosexuality is taught in public schools. ***************************** Really? What is it, like Homosexuality 101....I never found that course in any school I ever went to, how about you....tell me where they are teaching that course or did you just dream that.
alexpinca September 13, 2012 at 09:03 AM
Michael Ecklund 8:03 pm on Wednesday, September 12, 2012 @Alex.............Sorry I don't agree with that........they love the homosexual but hate the act..................just a say'in 88888888888888888888888888 How much emotional damage does that position do to a 13 or 14 year old trying to come to term with his orientation. See Michael...there is certain element of thickheadedness about some religions way of going about their holy then thou ways.
Craig Maxwell September 13, 2012 at 03:05 PM
If by "playing it down the middle," Doug simply means that he, as a newsman, was devoted to an impartial presentation of the facts--i.e., the truth--then I understand what he means. But if his suggestion is, that in an opinion column, one is absolved from responsibility to the truth, then he's lost me. No, more than that, he's simply wrong. Most newsmen, I strongly suspect, tacitly operate with what is known in philosophical circles as the Fact/Value distinction as a given--an unquestioned premise. That's unfortunate (and probably accounts for a great deal of contemporary journalism's odd priorities, misplaced emphases and outright falsehoods). At any rate, in philosophical terms, the Fact/Value distinction--i.e., facts are true, "values" subjective--enjoyed a relatively brief life span. Born during the 18th century, it is already dead.
Komfort September 13, 2012 at 03:21 PM
http://democrats.senate.ca.gov/news/2011-07-14-governor-signs-lgbt-inclusive-education-bill
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 03:25 PM
@Ron Selkovitch......I gave you the most logical responce that there is.
Michael Ecklund September 13, 2012 at 03:28 PM
@Alex...............The next thing you are going to tell me is that they are born that way. What is their holy then thou ways?
Things I Learned September 13, 2012 at 03:39 PM
"Many variants exist including variations that merely change the order of the letters; LGBT or GLBT are the most common terms and the ones most frequently seen in current usage. Although identical in meaning, "LGBT" may have a more feminist connotation than "GLBT" as it places the "L" (for "lesbian") first. When not inclusive of transgender people it is sometimes shortened to LGB. LGBT may also include additional "Q"s for "queer" or "questioning" (sometimes abbreviated with a question mark and sometimes used to mean anybody not literally L, G, B or T) which can then look like e.g., "LGBTQ" or "LGBTQQ"". Other variants may add a "U" for "unsure"; a "C" for "curious"; an "I" for "intersex"; another "T" for "transsexual" or "transvestite"; another "T", "TS", or "2" for "Two‐Spirit" persons; an "A" or "SA" for "straight allies"; or an "A" for "asexual". Some may also add a "P" for "pansexual" or "polyamorous", an "H" for "HIV-affected", and/or an "O" for "other".... The magazine Anything That Moves coined the acronym FABGLITTER (from Fetish such as the BDSM lifestyle community, Allies or poly-Amorous as in Polyamorous couples became more used, Bisexual, Gay, Lesbian, Intersexed, Transgender, Transsexual Engendering Revolution or inter-Racial attraction)... Another acronym that has begun to spread is QUILTBAG, from Queer/Questioning, Undecided, Intersex, Lesbian, Trans, Bisexual, Asexual, Gay." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGBT#Variants
Things I Learned October 02, 2012 at 11:25 PM
http://www.newcriterion.com/articles.cfm/Inducation-7445

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something